Liebster Award


Wow, this is the first time my blog is nominated for an award. Buri-chan of http://saninstory.wordpress.com/2013/08/31/liebster-awards-questions-and-answers/ has nominated me, THANK YOU.

The Liebster award is intended to give some exposure to small blogs with less than 200 followers. The rules are as follows:

1] Link back to the blogger who nominated you
2] Answer the 11 questions given to you by the blogger who nominated you
3] Nominate 11 other bloggers with less than 200 followers
4] Go to the blogs you nominated and notify them of your nomination
5] Give your nominees 11 questions to answer.

This is my answer to questions from San’in Monogatari, a blog about legends, folktales, and anecdotes from Japan’s San’in region. The blog is very informative with in-depth cultural immersion of the writer. Her comics also add the plus to the awesome blog.

1. What inspires you to blog?

I know that not everyone could live in a foreign culture for four years in their life. Living and studying in Japan is one big life-changing period for me and I want to document my experience. I don’t think that a diary is practical so I resort to blogging. Moreover, my family and friends back home know what kind of place I’m living in, what kind of people I met, whether I’m happy or not, that sort of things. By blogging I also find a whole new world of story telling and good readings and amazing people from all walks of life otherwise I wouldn’t have known.

2. What do you hope readers take away from your blog?

First, I wish that my stories and my pictures, no matter how humble, could inspire my students and the young people in my country to believe in dreams. I had a lot of things I wanted to do, places I wanted to visit, without knowing whether I could do it or not. But I never give up on my dreams, and I believe that if we dream strong enough then the whole universe will conspire to help us to realize our dreams. Next, I hope that I could ignite the traveler inside my readers. I hope they will get out of their couch and start exploring this beautiful place we live in.

3. In a world without the internet, how would you try to accomplish the above?

I love internet. It’s hard to imagine how to convey the above messages without much hassle on my part. I guess I’ll have to resort to scrapbook-making to be enjoyed by my family/friends years after.

4. Would you rather live in the mountains or by the beach?

I was born in the mountain and now live by the sea. Should I choose between the two I’ll go for the mountain. For it gives me more sense of peace and serenity. Since I’m a loner, living in a mountain would suit me better too.

5. What food are you proud you tried, but would never eat again?

Hmm, this is difficult because I usually try good stuffs but a few years ago I was fascinated with how a chef puree-ed every vegetable in an Oprah show and it seemed easy and healthy. So I put some eggplants into my mixer and voila! puree-ed eggplants they became. I put the glass proudly to my mouth and try to gulp the slimy content down my throat..and yuck!yuck!yuck! I swear I will never ever do this stupid thing again!

6. Do you have any interesting stories behind any scars?

Yes, I have a lot of scars in my face before. But with time they became less visible. When I was about seven years old I was so unlucky to happen to have an unbelievably wild three year-old little brother. I loved him but I thought he was too young to think of the correct expression to reciprocal my feeling, so he just scratched my face with his claws enthusiastically.

7. How would you pitch your favorite travel destination to someone who has never heard of it?

I guess it is a sin not to consider having a break to a paradise, you should go to Hawaii.

8. Your camera breaks while you’re on an exciting vacation. What do you do?

Similar experience have happened before. As before, I will rely on my partner’s or friend’s camera 🙂

9. However big or small, what’s something you have always wanted to try doing?

I have always wanted to go to a cowboy country and watch how the real cowboys of America live their lives. I wanted to enjoy their singing country songs, deep and mellow, forcing me to tears.

10. A favorite childhood memory?

Collecting various leaves for biology lesson when I was in elementary school. After school we went to gardens and backyards in groups, collecting fallen leaves in a shoe box. I was in the same group with my childhood crush and that made me really happy. That was the only time we were quite nice to each other. Other times we just fought or (pretend to) ignored each other *what a tough first love haha

11. What person, in any place or time period, would you trade places with for a day?

I won’t trade place with anyone at anytime, it would just feel weird. I love my shoes. I am content with who I am.

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Thanks for participating! I enjoyed reading your answers, and I’m totally with you on the mountains .vs. beach bit.
    As for the cowboys, might I suggest the Flying W ranch from my hometown? I went once as a little kid, and it still lingers in my memory.They have a long history and everyone in the area knows them, but the ranch burned down in a wildfire shortly before I moved to Japan. They’re bebuilding with the help of the community, so hopefully they’d have a new place ready by the time you get a chance to travel the Wild West!
    http://www.flyingw.com/ (FYI, the homepage plays music.)

Leave a Reply

